Chair: Dr. Sundari Mase, MD, MPH

Dr. Sundari R. Mase received her undergraduate degree from the University of California, Berkeley (UCB) and her medical degree from the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF). She finished her residency in Internal Medicine at UCSF and, subsequently, obtained her Master of Public Health with an emphasis in Epidemiology at UCB. She is an Assistant Clinical Professor in the Infectious Disease Department at Emory University and served as Associate Clinical Professor at UCSF. Dr. Mase began serving as the County’s Health Officer in March 2020. She brings local, state, federal and international experience to Sonoma County most recently serving as an independent Tuberculosis (TB) consultant for all aspects of TB clinical, programmatic, and research activities; prior to that she was the India Country TB Medical Officer for the World Health Organization (WHO).

Where we unite to #EndTB!


The Stop TB USA Board is comprised of up to 15 members from the general Partnership membership. Ex-officio members of the Board include representatives of the American Thoracic Society (ATS); the Division of Tuberculosis Elimination, National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; TB Centers of Excellence; and the National Tuberculosis Controllers Association.

The Board conducts monthly conference calls and meets face-to-face (currently via Zoom) at least annually in collaboration with a partner organization and with an effort to build public awareness of TB.

The day-to-day work of Stop TB USA is conducted by the officers and the Stop TB USA intern. Mee the officers below: 


Chair-Elect: Dr. Cynthia Tschampl, PhD

Cynthia A. Tschampl, PhD, is a Scientist at The Heller School for Social Policy and Management at Brandeis University and has 20 years experience with U.S. and global health, starting with a policy and advocacy background (including work in South Africa, Colombia, and Haiti). Dr. Tschampl’s research involves both quantitative and qualitative research methods with specialization in economic evaluations, such as cost-effectiveness and cost-offsets analyses. Other research interests include prevention and control of infectious diseases (including healthcare financing thereof), responses to substance use disorder, services for those experiencing homelessness, health disparities, poverty reduction, access to oral healthcare, quality measurement, and immigrant/migrant health. Dr. Tschampl was part of the small team evaluating the 2012 Health Care Cost Containment Law on behalf of the Office of the Massachusetts State Auditor. She has served on the Massachusetts Medical Advisory Committee for the Elimination of Tuberculosis (MACET) since 2004 and the StopTB USA Board since 2020. Dr. Tschampl received the National TB Controller Association’s Charles DeGraw TB Award in 2011and gave the Inaugural Thomas Q. Garvey Public Health Lecture in 2021.She has been a member of The Union since 2009 and has served several years on the planning committee of the North American Region meeting, including as Co-chair of the StopTB Plenary since 2020.

Secretary: Dr. Jeffrey Starke, MD

Jeffrey R. Starke, M.D. is a Professor of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. He graduated with a B.Sc. degree from Brown University in 1976, and received his M.D. from the University of Rochester in 1980. After completing a residency in pediatrics and fellowship in pediatric infectious diseases, he joined the Baylor faculty where he has remained. His major area of study has been tuberculosis in children, having cared for over 1,000 children with TB disease. He is an author of over 150 papers and 40 chapters on childhood tuberculosis, and is the editor of the multi-authored international book Handbook of Child and Adolescent Tuberculosis. He has served on numerous expert and guideline writing groups for the American Thoracic Society [ATS], Infectious Disease Society of America, American Academy of Pediatrics [AAP], the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [CDC], and World Health Organization. He served two terms and is a past chairman of the CDCAdvisory Council for the Elimination of Tuberculosis. He has been active in medical education, having given over 100national and international presentations on tuberculosis. He has won many teaching awards at his home institution including the Robertson Award, the highest education award given by Baylor College of Medicine. In 2021, he was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award from the North American Region of the International Union Against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease.